Employers Blog — Update

Colorado’s Newly Amended Employment Security Act Expands Benefits for Individuals Affected by Domestic Violence

Effective January 1, 2021, Senate Bill 20-170, FN1 amended two key provisions to Colorado’s Employment Security Act (“ESA”): (1) expanding unemployment benefits for individuals who experience joblessness as a result of domestic violence;FN2 and (2) providing that severance may be deducted from an individual’s overall entitlement to unemployment compensation.